What day were you born on?!

Hey!

Hey!!

Hey!!!

Today I’m going to teach you a little bit about my country. It’s one thing that makes us unique. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy this education. Grab your little notebooks and pens and let’s go!!

Now hello little class. We’re going to learn about naming by Akans of Ghana. What am I doing? 😁 Let me go straight to what I want to say.

Okay so in my country, most people get their names from the days they were born. The Akans( an ethnic group)do this most of the time. I’m an Asante(which is a tribe in Akan) so yeah…

A girl born on a Monday is called Adjoa/Adwoa.

A boy born on a Monday is called Kojo.

And it goes on and on.

So my name is also Afia because I was born a Friday. πŸ™‚Β 

What day were you born on? Tell me and let me tell you what your Ghanaian name will be. 😊😊 Well, I know Kitty is Akua just like my mother! What about you? 

14 thoughts on “What day were you born on?!

Leave a Reply

