Being happy or being selfish

This week most of my posts have been about sad stuff. So now I’m going to talk about happiness.(Yay!) Okay, so there’s some sort of happiness campaign all over social media and everywhere. Everyone is talking about doing what makes you happy and loving yourself and blah blah blah. One thing has been on my mind for a very long time now. It’s a question actually. What’s the difference between doing what makes you and you ONLY happy and being selfish? I’m going to tread on a very controversial path so I’m going to tread carefully. Okay, I want to use Caitlyn Jenner as an example. (No No No I’ve changed my mind). Let’s forget about her for now.

I’m not against loving yourself but I’m for loving yourself to love others. Whenever we want to make ourselves ‘happy’, I think we should consider how it makes those around us and those who love us feel. The world doesn’t revolve around us alone. No man is an island. Not considering those who love us in our pursuit of happiness makes us selfish in my opinion. Afterall, happiness is temporary. So why would we want to be happy for ourselves only when even happiness doesn’t last? You’ll come back to face your loved ones when the happiness you receive fades away. ‘Happily ever after’ is not real. That’s the beauty of humanity. The pain, the sorrow, the displeasure it’s all part of humanity. It’s part of LIVING. So embrace them, make them make you a better person. Don’t always run for the easy way out.( By that, I mean hapiness). In the long run, the pain, the suffering, the displeasure, they’ll catch up with you. They always will.

So, the next time you want to do something that makes you happy consider those around you, especially those who love you. If it’s really going to be the best for you, they’ll support you. If not, they’ll totally be against it. I’m not saying you should take their opinions by force. It depends on the situation of course. Be happy! Please note that I said those who love you. Because some people will just hate no matter what. Life is short.

This post is for you Bill. Even though you’ll never see this. R.I.P

10 thoughts on “Being happy or being selfish

  1. L. M. B. says:

    I share your point of view … totaly,
    I think our souls are related!
    Nice reading!
    As it goes in that song …
    Don’t worry be happy?
    Im happy
    Thank you.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

