Sad? 5 Ghanaian songs that will make you feel better.

rsz_ghanaian_songs

Hey everyone!

Okay now everyone has days when things are just going terribly wrong and you feel like you need a break from school, work, home and life. You feel like you need a break from everything, basically. I’m going to give you a list of my top five Ghanaian songs to listen to when you feel like the world needs to end.

NUMBER ONE: MAMA BOSS PAPA (YIMAMA)- LIL WIN

Even though this song doesn’t make a lot of sense, it is at the top of the list because there’s a high possibility that it’ll cheer you up. When listening, don’t be too critical because the artiste of the song is actually a Ghanaian comedian so has little or no regard for the laws of good music. I’ll describe this song as a combination of beats and random words to bring joy to the world. Ha!

NUMBER TWO: TELEMO- GASMILLA

This song is by one of my favourite Ghanaian musicians. He likes to call himself an international fisherman. And indeed, his songs try to fish men into his world of music. This song is about a young man who doesn’t pay heed to his grandfather’s advice and ends up with a very terrible wife. It’s in the Ga language. You don’t need to understand this song to enjoy the beats and rythms.

NUMBER THREE: ONAAPO (YOU WON’T EVEN GET)- DEE AJA

‘You won’t even get’ is just the literal translation of ‘Onaapo’. It means, “You will be priviledged to even have…” Onaapo was composed during the 2016 election period to win votes for the then president John Dramani Mahama. It was to tell Ghanaians that they’re even priviledged to have John Mahama as president. Not very nice,right? Unfortunately, Ghanaians wanted more than just good music to maintain him as president. He lost his office to the opposition and this song was played all over Ghana to celebrate the victory of the opposition. This is the remix by the opposition. I couldn’t get the original on SoundCloud, This one is basically saying ‘Bye Mahama’ using the rythmn and beats of the original Onaapo.

NUMBER FOUR: AWURADE BEGYE STEER NO ( GOD, COME FOR THE STEERING WHEEL) – KOFI KINAATA

This song is like the ‘Jesus take the wheel’ of Ghana. ( Carrie Underwood reference). It’s about a young man saying his final prayers because he’s about to have an accident. The song talks about how he went partying and has regretted his decision to drink and drive. He literally says, “God, come for the steering wheel. God, I’m drunk. I can’t see anything and I’m locked.”

NUMBER FIVE: SUSUKA (DON’T COMPLAIN TOO MUCH)- KOFI KINAATA

This song is by the same artiste who sang the fourth song on my list. This songs tells us not to complain too much about life. There are many people in worse situations so we have to be content with what we have. I just like the way the rythmn is cool and calm. He sings and raps in the Fante language. I like Kofi Kinaata because of his lyrics. (Don’t worry if you don’t understand). I’ve done my best to summarize what he sang for you. 🙂

This will  be all for now. I hope you listen to the songs and please please let me know which ones you enjoyed and which ones you didn’t really like.

Ciao 🙂

Save

2 Replies to “Sad? 5 Ghanaian songs that will make you feel better.”

  1. Hi adoma I really enjoy reading your blog . you should continue . since I am a blogger myself it inspires me to keep reeding yours . we could even do some blogging together who knows . keep it up . and I’ll constantly keep myself updated .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

