Poetry in school: CROSSING THE BAR By Alfred Lord Tennyson

School poetry.png

Hey wonderful peepz,

Today, I’m starting a series! Can I hear an Amen? Anyhoo, I’m going to be sharing with all of you amazing people some poems I studied in school. Yes? Just because I miss school. Okay so they’re mostly English and African poems. I hope you like this.

[1/05/17] Today’s own is going to be my personal favourite: CROSSING THE BAR

This was written by Alfred Lord Tennyson and here it goes:

Sunset and evening star,
      And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
      When I put out to sea,
   But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
      Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
      Turns again home.
   Twilight and evening bell,
      And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
      When I embark;
   For tho’ from out our bourne of Time and Place
      The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
      When I have crost the bar.
Did you like it? How do you understand this? Have you read this before? Comment down below. 🙂
Happy New Month!!
6 Replies to “Poetry in school: CROSSING THE BAR By Alfred Lord Tennyson”

  1. I think it’s something about the evening being quiet? Or maybe it’s about going to sleep/dreaming. I’m not sure. I think the bit about the ‘moaning of the bar’ could be about the mast on a boat, or something like that. Anyway, I like the poem – it’s very calming – I’m not sure why. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

