English words with meanings you never expected! |Urban Ghana

Here are some very simple English words with meanings you didn’t think they’ll ever have. This is Urban Ghanaian diction. These are also some very interesting Ghanaian teenage slangs. Enjoy.
1. Cut

Normally, to cut means…

In Ghana, cut is used by teenagers to replace the verb to take when referring to pictures.

Examples

“Who cut the pic?”

“Adoma cut like 50 pics”

As you can see, the verb remains the same regardless of the tense.

2. Bore

In Britain and every other English speaking country, bore means…

In Ghanaian pidgin (Ghanaian English), bore means to be angry or annoyed. So “You bore?” just means “Are you angry?” / “You angry?”

Examples

“He bore but I don’t care. I meant what I said.”

“Just forget it, don’t bore.”

3. Shank

Normally in English, to shank means…

In Ghana, young people mean to poop or take a sh*t when they say the verb to shank. 

Examples

“I really need to shank like now. I can’t hold it anymore.”

“Please show me where the washrooms are, I need to shank.”

4. Parp

Under normal circumstances, to parp means…

When a group of Ghanaian teenagers use the verb to  parp, they mean to be fun. 

The most appropriate English equivalent is the Urban word lit.

Examples

“The party parped!” means “The party was lit.”

“I’m so excited about the get together. I know it will parp.” means  “I’m so excited about the get together. I know it will be lit.”

5. Barb

Normally barb means…

However, when Ghanaian teenagers say you barb they mean to understand. Therefore, when someone’s asks “You barb?” They simply mean “Do you understand?” Or “You understand?”

Examples

“I have really thought about this and I still don’t barb.”

“You barb? The party will parp!”

“After all I said, she still doesn’t barb.”

Ghanaian teenagers can speak immaculate English sometimes. Normally, no one will use these jargons with a foreigner. I just thought it’ll be nice to share this with you all.

Thanks for reading!

15 thoughts on “English words with meanings you never expected! |Urban Ghana

Leave a Reply

