Reviewing my dad’s book! (Close Enemies by Asare Adei)

Hello guys,
For those of you who don’t know, my dad is a writer and publisher. So now you know where I get all my *cough* amazing *cough* writing skills from. Today, I’m gonna do a review of one of his books. (And all shall say Amen)
Note: My review won’t be affected by my close relationship with my father whatsoever. This is my real and honest opinion about his book.

With that settled, let’s get on with the review…

Book: Close Enemies

Author: Asare Adei

Personal rating: 4 stars

What’s the point of art if it won’t influence society? What’s the point of art if it won’t at least ask the questions that are begging to be answered? What’s the point of art if it won’t express the deepest darkest obscurities?

-Nana Adoma Asare Adei

CLOSE ENEMIES BY ASARE ADEI

With an abusive father and overly submissive mother, Tanko is stuck with taking the path of freedom by himself for himself and more importantly his mother. The book sheds light on ethnic conflicts and domestic violence in a manner that is able to drive the emotions of readers into it’s abyss of truth-screaming fiction.

It is set in the capital of Ghana, Accra and a fictitious town in the Northern Region. Even though the conflict in the book may bear semblance with the Bawku conflict, this is entirely a work of fiction. The work reflects reality despite it being imaginative and unreal.

In the book are quotes by the author himself and other creative writers which draw the readers attention to the important issues being raised. In a country where a woman is expected to live with her husband whether being abused or not till death becomes the only magistrate that ensures that she is divorced from her CLOSE ENEMY,  a lot still has to be done to cinch the liberty of such women.

Of course the book has shortcomings. The book, in my opinion, gives a lot of details in certain parts when it is not be exactly necessary. This may draw a lazy reader’s attention away from the plot of the story. It appears the writer is afraid of establishing a romantic relationship between Tanko and his so called “best friend”. All in all, it’s a great book which should be read by all.


The plot:

Tanko’s mother runs away with him to attend the funeral of his grandmother in a village in the Northern Region despite his father’s threat to kill her if she does so. At the village, warriors from attack his village killing his cousins and many other unsuspecting villagers. Tanko and his mother are found in their hidding place by the ruthless, Nuhu, who strangely spares their lives and takes them to Kumasi to find their way back to Accra, where they live. Upon arriving home, Tanko’s father subjects his mother to more verbal and physical abuse and this pushes Tanko to do something. What does he do? Why was his life spared in the conflict which left his village in ruins?

The characters:

Jemima, Tanko’s friend was very adorable. His mother, Zenabu, was in my opinion too gullible.

All in all:

All I’m basically saying is that the book is a good book about abuse and conflict. Also, I don’t get why my dad didn’t let Tanko go out with his “best friend”. It is very obvious they like each other.

DSCI0005DSCI0007DSCI0006

My camera quality isn’t the best, guys. I hope you like my doll at least.

This will be all.

Cheers!

