Texting 101 |WhatsApp|

How many of you get irritated when certain people text you? Yeah, me too. For all who don’t know what to say when texting others, on WhatsApp especially, I got you.
“Hey”

‘Hi’

“How are you?”

‘I’m good. You?’

“Same.”

*End of conversation(Convo)*

If you don’t want to be a victim of a conversation like the above, keep reading.

Disclaimer: These tips have personally worked for me and aren’t guaranteed to work for everyone. If the Β other one isn’t interested, nothing you can do can change that. Most importantly, be yourself.

  • Don’t use shorthand

You literally have no excuse for using shorthand. I mean there’s the prediction on your keypad and all it takes is one click. Just one click. If you don’t have your prediction on, I suggest you turn it on. It’s very helpful with spellings and helps you type faster. Abbreviations are better to use. But shorthand isn’t really the best. Shorthand once a while, is tolerable but WhatsApp isn’t twitter where you have a word limit so feel free.

Eg: Hw r u swthrt? I hpe u kul.

Is that how you want to type? Really?

  • Have time to text!!

I hate it so much when someone texts me, and then when I reply, the person ignores me after reading. Like why though? So why did you text me? Did you just die after texting me? Make sure you have about 15 minutes to spare when you text me and I’m not even kidding. I’m sure everyone finds it annoying. Yep, every single one. So yes you need to have time to text.

Hey Danielle”

‘Omg hi Jake’

*Ten hours later*

Read

  • You don’t always have to start your conversation with ‘hello’ or ‘hey’ or ‘hi’ alone!

Since we’re talking about WhatsApp, you can comment on the person’s display picture (dp). Eg: ‘Hey, why do you have two rabbits eating pizza as your dp?’ The person will have to do some explanation and then you can pick up from there by asking questions based on the person’s answer. If the person, is interested and interesting he/she may throw some questions back at you. And Halleluyah you can go ahead and flourish.

  • Don’t ask questions that require yes/no answers

Stop asking ‘Have you eaten?’ and start asking, ‘What did you eat this evening/morning/afternoon?’. Because we all assume the person is a normal human who eats that incredible thing we call food. If the person says he or she hasn’t eaten then you go on and ask ‘Why?’. If the person tells you that she has eaten, you can go ahead and talk about how much you like or dislike that particular meal. It’s not so hard, you see?

  • Reply on time or excuse yourself

You know that feeling of disinterest when someone you’re texting leaves you hanging for more than an hour and then comes back to continue the conversation? (Like uh I’m done talking about this.) When you engage someone in a conversation, you don’t leave the person hanging in the middle of all the action. It’s impolite even. If you have to do something urgently, typing ‘Brb’ or ‘Ttyl’ won’t get your head chopped off. Amazing isn’t it?

If you suck at texting give me a like. If not, give me a like and comment. This is just a joke but all your likes and comments are duly appreciated.

Have a great day!

11 thoughts on “Texting 101 |WhatsApp|

  1. Esther says:

    Ace! You aced this girl. Replying late eh? Jesus! Just get away!!! Then you begin to feel like you’re the only one interested in conversation. Worse off, I also try to reply late when it’s done to me cause it’s so annoying when you see that the person in online but your message isn’t replied to until hooouuuurrrsss later. Bad enough, I’m not mean like that, so I just give it few minutes before I reply. If I’m royally pissed however, I can leave it up for up to a day or more, then just start up on talking about something else because time’s up for that topic.

    Short forms. I really don’t get why this is a thing. Seriously. Some short form words are the same number of letters that the real word possess. I don’t understand why people don’t just type in full. Even the “u” instead of “you” make me roll my eyes, but I’m used to it with some people so when they do it I just swallow and take it as it is.

    Lovely post dearie. I was able to resonate with it a hundred percent! I’m loving your content these days. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • GirlfromGhana says:

      Thank you so much, Esther. When someone replies late, I leave it for twice as long before I reply. Petty, I know. You can’t waste my time like that.
      Oh God ikrrr. Like can’t you just type the real thing? I really appreciate your comment.😊

      Like

  2. gracie chick says:

    Great post, Adoma! It’s actually the same with comments, don’t you think? Just wondering, did you manage to get in touch with Indy? And did you get my latest email about the project? ❀

    Like

  3. Mariam Shittu says:

    Love this, soooo true. I hate the late replies too like why did you even text me. I use abbreviations though like “tho, cos, d” the basic ones not “kul”πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

